Skip to content Phone number 877-588-2502
Open Search Bar

About the University of West Florida

The University of West Florida (UWF) has a central mission: empower each individual with the opportunity to responsibly and creatively contribute to a complex world. Founded in 1963, UWF is recognized for a commitment to academic success. Our students receive individualized assistance from a world-class faculty, and our learning environment fosters forward-thinking and innovative problem solving. We see change as inspirational. Our campuses (in Florida and online) offer bachelor’s, master’s, specialist and doctoral degree programs.

UWF is committed to:

  • planning and investing strategically to enhance student access and educational attainment
  • building on existing strengths and developing distinctive academic and research programs and services that respond to identified regional and state needs
  • supporting highly qualified faculty and staff who engage students in rigorous, high-impact, student-oriented learning experiences that enhance personal and professional development and prepare alumni to contribute responsibly and creatively to a complex 21st-century global society

Vision and Values

The University of West Florida aspires to be widely recognized as a model of excellence and relevance, sought out as a distinctive intellectual and cultural center, valued as an engaged partner, and acclaimed for being "different by design."

UWF's institutional values, shared by students, faculty and staff, make the University a great place to learn and work. UWF is committed to maintaining policies and practices and pursuing initiatives congruent with these articulated values.

History Highlights

1963 - Establishment of the University of West Florida

The Florida Legislature allocated funding to develop the University of West Florida, which became the sixth university in the State University System of Florida.

1969 - University Accreditation

UWF earned its accreditation for undergraduate programs from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) in 1969. That year, the University also established its first master's degree programs.

1979 – Creation of Traditional Colleges

Initially, the University was organized into three resident colleges—Alpha, Gamma and Omega—all designed for upper-level and graduate students. In July 1979, the University organized into a more traditional structure by establishing three colleges: the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of Business and the College of Education.

2015 - College of Health

As a final step in an academic college reorganization, UWF announced the formation of the College of Health. The former College of Science, Engineering and Health divided into two separate colleges, the College of Science and Engineering and the College of Health, in order to position the University as a major player in the development of innovative solutions to substantial health care challenges.

Request Information
*All fields required.
or call 877-588-2502
By clicking the submit button, I agree, via my digital signature, that the University of West Florida (UWF) may email me or contact me regarding educational services by telephone and/or text message utilizing automated technology at the telephone number(s) provided above. I understand this consent is not required to attend UWF.